HELINA 2013 Conference Information

8th Health Informatics in Africa Conference 7th – 8th October 2013, Eldoret Kenya

“HELINA 2013: Evidence based Informatics for eHealth in Africa”
Venue: The Noble Conference Centre, Eldoret, Kenya


Contact: helina-conference@helina-online.org 


HELINA 2013 Conference Information:

HELINA 2013 Conference

The eighth Health Informatics in Africa Conference – HELINA 2013 Conference planned to take place in Eldoret Kenya from the 7th to 8th of October 2013 will be hosted by the Kenyan Health Informatics Association (KeHIA). KeHIA is the national platform for health informatics activities in Kenya with membership drawn from corporate bodies, professionals and researchers involved in Health, Medical Informatics and Computer Science in Kenya from within and outside the country. The organization is a member of the Pan African Health Informatics in Africa Association (HELINA) and the International Medical Informatics Association (IMIA).


HELINA and KeHIA aim with this year’s conference at: 

  • Promoting the development of an African eHealth strategy as well as the development of eHealth policies in each African country
  • Showcasing best practices in Health Informatics and its application in Africa
  • Highlighting the role of Health Informatics applications for the millennium development goals in Africa
  • Translating research and innovations into improved healthcare delivery system
  • Fostering the creation of networks between African Countries as well as eHealth initiatives in Africa
  • Fostering the development of Health Informatics research and education in Africa.


Through research and project reports on evidence based informatics for eHealth in Africa, we hope to all intents and purposes, to contribute significantly to efforts aimed at the development of a sustainable eHealth strategy for Africa. As such, special focus will also be given to initiating, building and consolidating networks among participants from different African states. Appropriate time and room will be allocated for interactive / brainstorming workshops, panel discussion, focus group sessions as well as ice breaking / meet-and-greet’ opportunities.


Keynote conferences, paper and poster presentation, and panels with international participation, tutorials, meet the experts’ sessions, Workshops, Brainstorming sessions


Intended Audience:

Healthcare Professionals (Physicians, Nurses, Midwifes, Lab specialist and technicians, Managers, Clerks), interested in health care technology, ICT, Telecommunications and Microelectronic professionals dedicated to develop applications for health care. Decision makers, government officials, industry leaders, eHealth organizations. Researchers in health management, public health, biomedical/health informatics, medicine and professionals interested in ICT applications for health care, and students (medicine, health informatics, computer sciences)


Important Dates and Deadlines:


Website opens (http://conf13.helina-online.org):  June 5, 2013
Submission of Papers and Abstracts: July 1 – July 31, 2013
Online Registration Opens: July 1, 2013
Notification of review results: August 26, 2013
Final papers and abstracts due:       16 September 2013
Finalization of Programs including Speakers: Sept 20, 2013
Contact: helina-conference@helina-online.org


Conference Committees

A. Central LOC 


Patrick Odawon  – University of Washington 
Tom Oluoch – CDC-Kenya 
Steven Wanyee – University of Washington 
Martin Osumba  – Abt Associates 
Samuel Were – Ministry of Health
Davies Kimanga – Ministry of Health
AyubManya – Ministry of Health
WanjalaPepela – Ministry of Health
Humphrey Karamagi – WHO
Rex Mpazanje – WHO
Martin Were – Moi University, Eldoret
Abraham Siika – Moi University, Eldoret
Sylvester Kimaiyo – Moi University, Eldoret
WanjikuNganga – University of Nairobi
Dan Orwa – University of Nairobi
George Odhiambo – Kenyatta University
Thomas Odhiambo – eGovernment, Office of the President
Paul Kukubo – ICT Board
Washington Omwomo – USAID-Kenya.


B. International Advisory Panel


  • Ghislain Kouematchoua (chair), IMIA Vice President for HELINA
  • Antoine Geissbuhler, IMIA President
  • Rosemary Foster, Medical Research Council, South Africa
  • Miguel Peixoto, eHealth Regional focal point, WHO Africa
  • Christopher Seebregts, Jembi Health Systems, South Africa
  • Lyn Hanmer, Medical Research Council, South Africa
  • Amadou Koita, HELINA Vice President


C. Scientific Program Committee

  • Mikko Korpela (Chair)
  • Dalenca Pottas (Vice Chair)
  • Abimbola Soriyan – Nigeria
  • Andrew Kanter – United States of America
  • Anja Mursu – Finland
  • Anuoluwapo Ajayi – Nigeria
  • Ben Monga – Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Burke Mamlin – United States of America
  • Cheick Oumar Bagayoko – Mali
  • Chris Olola – Kenya
  • Chris Seebregts – South Africa
  • Elaine Byrne – Ireland
  • Ephias Ruhode – South Africa, Zimbabwe
  • Esselina Macome – Mozambique
  • Eustache Muteba – Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Faraja Igira – Tanzania
  • Gertrudes Macueve – Mozambique
  • Ghislain Kouematchoua – Germany, Cameroon
  • Hugo Lotriet – South Africa
  • Irmeli Luukkonen – Finland
  • Janise Richards – United States of America
  • Joao Carlos Mavimbe – Mozambique
  • Jørn Braa – Norway
  • Juergen Stausberg – Germany
  • Lyn Hanmer – South Africa
  • Margunn Aanestad – Norway
  • Marilla Palmen – Finland
  • Maurice Mars – South Africa
  • Michael Marschollek – Germany
  • Nhlanhla Mlitwa – South Africa
  • Nicky Mostert-Phipps – South Africa
  • Oluyinka Adejumo – South Africa, Nigeria
  • Omolola Irinoye – Nigeria
  • Pernille Bertelsen – Denmark
  • Peter Waiganjo Wagacha – Kenya 
  • Pirkko Kouri – Finland
  • Retha de la Harpe – South Africa
  • Ronald Cornet – Netherland
  • Wallace Chigona – South Africa, Malawi


Editorial/Proceedings Committee:


  • Mikko Korpela
  • Ghislain Kouematchoua
  • Andrew Kanter
  • Tom Oluoch
  • Steven Wanyee
  • Ulrich Kemloh, Koegni-eHealth Innovation for Development


Conference Website


  • Gilles Kom Kenmengne, Koegni-eHealth Innovation for Development
  • Xavier Scolard, Koegni-eHealth Innovation for Development